Week Two: The Gift of Words! (I hope!)

I haven’t mentioned that I have a complete fear of opening presents in front of people.

In my opinion, there is too much expectation to love the gift, and have the appropriate response to show that appreciation.

This issue translates over to gift-giving for me as well.

I want so much for people to love the gift I get them, and if they aren’t crazy excited about it, then I feel like I’ve failed.

This brings us to Week 2: What to get for the person who is hard to shop for?  

My big brother’s birthday is this week. We’ve discussed over the phone a few things he’d like to receive, and he will probably get a shirt or a business card design, or both. But I really want him to be excited about a gift – I don’t want to give a gift simply for the sake of giving.

So I thought, and thought, and thought, about what my brother really might like to receive, or what I really, really, want to give him.

I’m hoping I can do this justice in words.

Thank you, big brother. You have always been here for me.

You stuck up for me when I was in 8th grade and ugh, it was junior high! Kids can be so cruel, and they were at times, to me. But you let them know that I wasn’t to be messed with, because I had backup. Thank you for always keeping me safe.

Thank you for making me laugh, even when I’m not feeling so great. Sometimes, when I have a rough day, only a Bobcat Goldthwait impersonation can pull me through! Image

That or a long car ride in a cherry red Camaro (or whatever kind of car it was – a t-bird maybe?), with the remix version of Billy Idol’s “Catch My Fall” on repeat (or since we’re old now, rewind and play, rewind and play, etc.).

Image

And anytime you want to watch Emmet Otter’s Jug Band Christmas, I’m there with popcorn, or a sleeve of saltines.

Thank you for teaching me. I went to most of your hockey games in high school, always wanting to play. And when I finally got my chance in college, you were right there to help me buy equipment, take me to public session, and later on, open hockey. I wouldn’t have done any of that without you. Thank you for supporting me.

Thank you for not getting mad at me for having crushes on most of your friends. Thank you for always letting me tag along with you. Thank you for painting your face black and gold with me to go to a Bruins/Devils game… in New Jersey! Thank you for sitting beside me during the sad times at funerals, and on that stupid yellow flowered couch in our living room when our parents separated. Thank you for not really pile driving me into anything harder than the couch, and for letting me earn a win through a crab hold. Thank you for sharing your toys, and for giving me the toy from the cereal box the time I threatened to run away. Thank you for singing Del Shannon’s “Runaway” with me, even though I sing it better. 😉 Thank you for answering the phone at 4 a.m. and driving an hour to save me while I have the flu, the husband is away and the baby is going to wake up soon! Thank you (and your wife!) for coming early to every family event and helping to clean, cook and watch the kids. Thank you for the multitude of fun times that are so numerous I can’t remember them all.

Thank you for being you, big brother. I hope you have the best birthday ever, only to be topped by next year’s, and the next, to infinity!

Leave a Reply

